Getting the best out of life without getting broke!

Brighter Life Philippines

BL_PiggythumbI was rummaging through my closet when I came across an old piggy bank. This white, breakable piggy bank with a rubber hole on its belly where coins can be inserted was my strategy for saving, way before I came to know about personal finance apps or even had my very first passbook.

I found myself taking a trip down memory lane and reminiscing about the toys and activities that taught me how to manage finances as a child. Are any of these familiar to you?

1. Alkansya
Apart from piggy banks like the one I own, the popular alkansya comes in all shapes and sizes – cylindrical and rectangular, small and humongous – made from a variety of materials like cardboard and porcelain. It always has that ubiquitous opening where coins snuggly fit in.

2. Paluwagan
It works this way: members give a fixed amount (usually from their allowances)…

View original post 114 more words

Leave a Reply

